top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSusan B. Nickson

"If Wishes Were Horses . . ."

Updated: Jun 6, 2020

OK reader, I hope you're here because you've discovered my book, Summer Solace, and you'd like a little more. This blog (my first, ever) is a beginning. Glad you're joining me.


As of this moment, (June 5, 2020) a total of 35 copies of my book have been sold. Of course, this number represents almost exclusively, my family and friends. (And to those in the family that my wonderful hubby badgered into buying and reading the book, I'm truly sorry.) I am thrilled when anyone buys my book. That one 's kinda obvious, but I'm over the moon when someone reads it and LIKES it!!!


Also, I have finished writing the next book in the series, Fall Forever, and I'm in the process of editing. It isn't ready to send to my first readers yet so I can't give you a timeline.


Now, the reason for the title of this blog. As I've said elsewhere, writing books, having a ranch, and owning a horse have been goals of mine since I was a young girl. The horse, well, I can say that goal loomed the largest for a very long time. If I had the opportunity to ride as a kid, I'd use a saddle blanket my parents had bought for me. When I came home, I'd hang it in my room so I could smell horse whenever I wanted. Some of you probably think that's pretty yukky. But some of you will totally get it.


My room was papered with horse pictures from magazines and I read any book I could find that featured horses. Alas, no horse for me during my childhood. We were city dwellers and my parents liked the beach and swimming. Not to say I don't like those things - I do - but I had to wait.


And wait . . .


And wait . . . until much later. Our circumstances changed just enough for us to buy Miracle Angel. With a little help, she got pregnant. We realized that the cost of boarding two horses would be almost as much as our mortgage. So, we took the obvious solution. We moved to a ranch. Well, kind of a ranch. Here we are, years later, and now, I've finally published a novel!


"If Wishes Were Horses . . ."

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page